Advisory Council

Dr Khotso Mokhele (Chair)
Chancellor of the University of the Free State, South Africa

Khotso Mokhele is the President of the National Research Foundation in Pretoria. He is an Independent Non-Executive Director of Mittal and a Member of the Executive Committee of the ISC Committee for Science and Technology in Developing Countries. He is also the Chancellor of the University of the Free State.

Read more

Dr Ismail Serageldin
Emeritus Founding Director of the Bibliotheca Alexandrina, Egypt

Ismail Serageldin, Founding Director of the Bibliotheca Alexandrina (BA), the new Library of Alexandria, inaugurated in 2002, is currently, Emeritus Librarian, and member of the Board of Trustees of the Library of Alexandria. He serves as Chair or Member of a number of advisory committees for academic, research, scientific and international institutions and civil society efforts, including as co-Chair of the Nizami Ganjavi International Center (NGIC), and serves on the Advisory Committee of the World Social Science Report for 2013 and 2016, as well as the UNESCO-supported World Water Scenarios (2013) and the executive council of the Encyclopedia of Life (2010) and Chairs the Executive Council of the World Digital Library (2010).

Read more

Prof Ogunlade Davidson 
Former Minister of Electricity and Water Resources, Sierra Leone

Ogunlade Davidson is the former Minister of Energy and Water Resources of Sierra Leone in the Ernest Bai Koroma Administrationis, and co-chair of the Working Group III, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change since 1997. From 1996 until 2000, he held the post of Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Fourah Bay College, University of Sierra Leone.

Dr Heide Hackmann
Executive Director, International Science Council, France

Heide Hackmann is Executive Director of the International Science Council (ISC), which was established by the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization in 1952. The ISC represents the social, behavioural, and economic sciences at a global level, and aims to bring the best social science to bear on the biggest social challenges of our times.

Read more

Ex Officio
Prof Himla Soodyall (Executive Officer, Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf))
Prof Geoffrey Boulton (Former President, CODATA)
Dr Simon Hodson (Executive Director, CODATA)
Mrs Susan Veldsman (Director Scholarly Publishing Programme, ASSAf & AOSP Project Director)
Prof Joseph Wafula (Director: ICT Centre of Excellence & Open Data – iCEOD, JKUAT & Chair: AOSP Technical Advisory Board (TAB))
Dr Sepo Hachigonta (Director: Strategy, Planning and Partnerships (SPP), National Research Foundation (NRF))
Ms Faranah Osman (Executive Director: Information Technology & Knowledge Resources, National Research Foundation (NRF))